Old Habits Die Hard

Starting a rewrite, I discovered I had fallen back into an old habit, the overuse of pronouns.

“That’s right,” he says. He tells me about a guy he knows back in Yuma.

In one five-sentence paragraph: “He looks… he decides he’s found… he pulls out a bottle… (and) he offers me a drink… I decline… He shrugs…”

The story is a first-person account of two guys on a bus. Pronouns are unavoidable, but enough is enough. After the first few, they get monotonous and boring.

Avoiding pronouns has been a life-long battle. Letters and Facebook posts are riddled with “I” and “he/she.” Even in conversation, I use first-person often enough, my friends think I’m an egomaniac (see?). Actually, it’s just laziness – it’s much easier to keep repeating pronoun-verb-subject than to actually think of something original.

An old college writing textbook says stories often go through five to ten rewrites. This may take more.

About daveallen

ummmm..... hi
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

